backyard kitchen + brew

UP Town Center is fast becoming one of my personal favorite go-to-dine places. For the past month I had been here four times trying out a total of seven restaurants. The latest dinescapade being with Backyard Kitchen and Brew.

dscf4351

I am a listener of the Boys Night Out at Magic 89.9 and they have mentioned this place more than dozens of times. Made me wonder what this restaurant has to offer so The Babe and I checked it out.

image (7)

I liked the interior of this restaurant — the wooden chairs and tables, metal bucket lamps, plants and other modern pieces all made sense.

image (14)

Thrice Cooked Crispy Pork Cheek, P295

I had the Thrice Cooked Crispy Pork Cheek which they said on the menu was stewed, roasted, then grilled served with sauteed kale, caramelized onions, and forbidden black rice with adobo hoisin reduction.

image (4)

I was disappointed because the crackling was hard as rock, the fat was not rendered properly, and the meat was tough to chew. The Babe asked if I’d like to return the meal but I was in an incredibly good mood that time plus our server, Mark, was really efficient that I dismissed the idea.

image (13)

Slow Roasted Pork Belly, P275

The Babe had the Slow Roasted Pork Belly rubbed with home made rum coke barbecue sauce served with papaya slaw, and a choice between rice and mac and cheese. He gave me a portion so I was able to finish my rice without having to eat the tough parts of my meal. The pork had a nearly ‘melts in your mouth’ characteristic which we both enjoyed.

image (18)

Butterbeer, P125

The little potterhead in me decided to try out their infamous butterbeer. Other flavored beers available were macadamia, salted caramel, passionfruit, and raspberry. If I hadn’t only watched “That Sugar Film”, I would probably rave about this butterbeer. It was sweet and creamy and alcoholic, everything that I wanted in a drink. But, that documentary affected my sugar intake bigtime. Like I said if it had only been on a different circumstance, it would have probably been my favorite beer ever.

Pizookie, P385

Pizookie, P385

What a nice way to end the meal with a baked to order chewy chocolate chip cookie with ice cream on top. The Babe is a better judge of desserts as he is the sweetest tooth in the planet and he liked this dessert. It was warm and chewy as promised.

I couldn’t complain with the service that we got, everyone was active and attentive. I’d love to be back here at the backyard.

 

Backyard Kitchen + Brew

2nd floor UP Town Center, Katipunan Ave, Diliman, Quezon City

 

xoxo,

The Flying Mermaid
Backyard Kitchen + Brew Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

